top of page

Older Blog Posts

Dark & Lovely Let Down

Lately I’ve been wanting to try something new with my hair. For the past two months I have been doing the honey treatments to naturally lighten my hair. But on a whim I bought some box hair dye that is great for natural African American hair. It’s by Dark & Lovely called Go intense ultra-vibrant color on dark hair. The color I purchased was spicy red.

You can see by the box that I was expecting to get a color pretty similar to the one the box showed. Especially when on the side of the box it says that you should expect a color a little darker but still close to the one on the box if you have black hair. Right now my hair isn’t even black. It’s dark brown.

So I was a very disappointed that this is the color that I got when I rinsed my hair. I’m not going to say I was completely disappointed because you can at least see the color when I’m in light. But it’s not the look that I wanted.

After I dyed my hair I seen that they had a YouTube video that shows someone using this exact color but her hair looks like it was already the shade they are advertising. Her hair looks like the color had faded from multiple washes and she just needed a touch up to bring the color back out. It wasn’t shown for how it’s advertised for people with dark hair color.

I saw reading through the comments that a lot of people had similar experiences to me. The roots got all the color while the rest of my hair even waiting a ten extra minutes then the recommended 30mins just got a miniscule subtle color. Nothing intense at all. Some said that they got the color of the hair model after trying it for a second time. I’m on the fence if I want to repurchase it. I think I’ll have my aunt just give me a color lift and then color it to the color I want.

I really disapponted that Dark and Lovely would try to brand this produce for those with dark hair and tell them that they would get an unachievable color.

Have you been let down by any products lately? Leave a comment below if you have any recommendations on products I should try or if you had a similar experience.

Ashtastic journey a lifestyle entertainment blog

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page