top of page

Older Blog Posts

The Best of Me Review (small spoilers)

This weekend I watched the movie “The Best of Me” which is based off of a Nicholas Sparks Novel of the same name. It’s starred James Marsden (X-Men’s Cyclops) who plays Dawson and Michelle Monaghan (Maggie Hart on True Detective) who plays Amanda. This movie has been out for a while 2014 to be exact. After going through a break up with someone that I use to date this seemed like a movie that I could relate to. I felt l could get into it since I was going through somewhat similar situations with the main character. Lame I know but it gives me the opportunity to watch a lot of movie I might have passed up.

The premise of the movie is that two high school sweethearts are reunited after the death of a mutual friend played by Gerald McRaney (Capt. Patrick Murray on Mike and Molly). He leaves his summer cottage to the both of them. When they see each other it rekindles old memories and we get to watch the younger versions of the couple. It’s the classic tale of the pretty popular girl and the guy from the wrong side of the tracks. Except it’s the girl who makes the first move. Dawson does come from the wrong side of the tracks but his family as crocked, and violent as it comes. Which causes the moment when they have to break up. Dawson accidentally kills his best friend and has to go to jail for a short time.

When they rekindle their romance they realize that they are still in love. Of course Amanda is still married and her marriage is over even though they are still together. Mostly out of convenience because there is clearly no emotional or physical love between them.

Like any other Nicholas Sparks movie I’ve watched it was a tear jerker and the acting was pretty great. Though I haven’t seen all of his movies most of the actors are people that I really enjoy. The story wasn’t anything to different from movies or books that I’ve read except the twist at the end that I don’t want to spoil for anyone reading this. But it was a great ending. I would recommend it to anyone who loves a good romance and of course a tear jerker.

Do you know of any good romance book or movies to read or watch? Leave them down in the comments. If you like this post check out some of my earlier ones here and here. Subscribe if you would like to get notified when new posts are live.

-Ashley

Ashtastic journey a lifestyle entertainment blog

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page