top of page

Older Blog Posts

Natural Hair Lightening Solution

I’ve only dyed my hair one time back when I use to have relaxed hair. I had a pixie cut and added blond highlights. It was really cute. I wish I took my pictures of myself back then. But you know social media was just becoming popular with Myspace and Zynga. But now that’s I’m older and starting to finally define my fashion and style. I’ve finally started to dabble in hair color.

So about a two months ago I used henna on my hair to dye it a subtle blue/black which I loved. But its summer and now I want to lighten my hair. I always hear bad things about dye so I did some research on somewhat natural ways to remove henna and then ways to naturally lighten dark hair. While I’m sure people have heard about some of these ways I wanted to talk about my experience and include the pictures that I have taken of my progress. Because I’ll say this now it’s not one and done.

So when I was removing my henna I used a mix of vitamin c uncoated capsules and Purcell shampoo. These two products together are supposed to help remove any hair dye or henna that you have on your hair. I crushed up the vitamin c capsules and a mixed it with the shampoo. I then washed my hair twice and it actually took the color out. It was mostly on my towel that I used.

Then I deep conditioned my hair and waited a week before I used the mixture that I read about on the internet. I mixed together cinnamon, olive oil, conditioner, and honey all together. Before I put it in I dampen my hair and detangle it then apply the mixture to my hair.

The first two times I didn’t really notice anything since it’s a subtle effect to lighten the hair. If you have lighter colored hair it’s said you will see the effects a lot more quickly. I didn’t really notice anything until the third and fourth application. While I typing this out I’m doing the fifth application. Those results will be included in the post as well since I don’t post until Monday or Tuesday. It’s Saturday right now and I’m off work so I wanted to type this up early so I can edit and then include all the pictures.

15335_edited

  • You can leave the mixture on your hair for as long as you want. I left my on each time (4 treatments) overnight so it added up to be about 10-12 hours at a time.

  • It’s all mostly natural product and it smells delicious

  • When I applied the product I used saran wrap, conditioning caps, silk bonnets, and I l slept with a towel on my pillow to catch any cinnamon fallout or if all the things on my head fell off while I was sleeping.

  • The mixture will be a little itchy at first from the cinnamon. If it becomes unbearable please rinse of as soon as possible.

  • Very dark hair will have subtle highlights in the sun.

  • It will take multiple rinses to remove all of the cinnamon from your hair.

  • Wait until the hair is completely dry to check for any change in hair color.

  • My hair really likes this mixture my curls look even better after the first treatment and I think my hair might have grown a couple inches just in the past two weeks.

  • Watch wearing eyeglasses I got a small burns behind my ears the first time from wrapping my glasses underneath the saran wrap and other things. No I didn’t sleep in my glasses.

  • Don’t get the mixture in your eyes. I didn’t but I heard it stings

  • Olive Oil, Cinnamon, and honey all have enough amount of hydrogen perioxiode that it can naturally lighten your hair.

  • Some recipes say to add lemon juice the last two results I included lemon juice

  • the pictures included show my hair with no product

  • this is permanent

I really enjoy the benefits of using this concoction even though the results are not as quick as I would like. Just seeing the way my hair overall has improved has won me over to continue using it.

Have you ever tried this before? Did you like the results you received? Would you ever try this? Leave some comments below.

Ashtastic journey a lifestyle entertainment blog

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page