top of page

Older Blog Posts

Am I the only who who misses end zone celebrations?


While here in Ohio everybody is stressing over the NBA finals myself included. We're all about Believeland. I wanted to take a little time to talk about my first sports love the NFL. Sunday afternoon my mother and I went to go visit my aunt in the hospital and while we were there we all watch The Replacements with Keanu Reeves, Orlando Jones, and Gene Hackman when they replace the pro footballers and actually do a damn good job. Well while watching I was watching them enjoying the pleasure of scoring a point by doing their respective touch down dance celebration. I’ve watched football, played it on video games, and touch but I remember when the NFL banned the players from rejoicing in the end zone. Which in my opinion was a shitty thing to do. When my team scores I like to see them dancing and laughing and having a great time. Not I can understand if it’s for too long. But a quick move and on to the field goal or two points. It makes the game more enjoyable besides the tension of each play.

Here's ESPN's list of top 10 celbrations you may never see again. (2012)

Click here to see the NFL's list of top ten celebrations.

After doing a little research on the inter-webs I found an article where Elmo Wright was interviewed by the New York Times he is said to be the father of the end-zone dance. After spiking the football was banned by the NCAA. Wright a sophomore wide receiver at the time for the University of Houston was an avid user of the end zone spike and was not sure of what to do instead. When he high stepped out of a tackle by the opposing team he did a quicker version of the high step at the end zone.

Here’s the article from the New York Post with the whole

The reason the NFL cracked down on the end zone celebrations is because they considered it to be a form of taunting and that it was un-sportsman like. Started in 2011 as of now the list of things that could get a player fined are sack dances, home run swings, verbal taunting, military salutes, standing over an opponent for a prolonged period of time, or dancing. As well as spiking, throwing, shoving, pointing, or spinning the ball after a play or score. While I can understand this it just takes all the fun out of it. This is a newer list that includes five more celebrations that were banned in 2014.

How do you feel about the ban on end-zone celebrations? Leave a comment below I would love to hear what you think.

Ashtastic journey a lifestyle entertainment blog

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page