top of page

Older Blog Posts

Memorial Day 2015


Sitting at the park for Memorial Day with my family and we’re waiting for my aunt to get her car unlocked. Ha-ha little kids are precocious. It was a really good time and we had fun hanging out and grilling. Though this day is not really about the official start of summer it’s about remembering all the people that fought for us to enjoy the freedom a lot of us take for granted today. Though I was in the military for six years I don’t really consider this my day because I still live and breathe to enjoy what my brothers and sisters made the ultimate sacrifice for.

I’ve been privileged to serve this country and to meet a lot of wonderful people along the way. I know that every time this holiday comes around there are always articles about people not acknowledging the real reason for it and while that is very true some just consider it a time to get drunk and enjoy the weather.

I still think the fact that most people spend this time with family and visiting family and friends graves that aren’t longer with us. While it seems like a lot of people have served in the military at some point in time. A lot might not know anyone who served or is serving so visiting those who aren’t with us anymore seems like a perfectly great substitute. Memorial Day is considered a day to remember everyone that isn’t with us period. It a day to reflect and remember all the great times that were shared together.

-Ashley

Ashtastic journey a lifestyle entertainment blog

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page