top of page

Older Blog Posts

Janelle Monae (Blog Series CSOYAROM)


This will be the first blog from the series “Can some of your awesome rub off on me!” The first person I want to talk about is Janelle Monáe. Ms. Monáe was born in Kansas City, Kansas on December 1st, 1985. I remember first seeing Janelle in an Outkast video the song I can’t think out right now. She was signed by Sean “Puffy” Combs in 2010.

This interview expresses the essence of Janelle Monáe and made me feel like if we ever met in real life we could be friends because we hold some of the same values. I love that women should finds ways to empower themselves and to have self-confidence and peace.

She’s a very creative person her music expresses that and she also channels that same creativity through her sense of style. She’s very posed and elegant which I admire because I want to have the same presence. Her color motif is black and white which is always classy and she’s never dresses too provocatively but still shows confidence and sexuality. Her signature look is a fitted suite. When I first became natural she was my muse especially with how she styles her hair in more of a pin-up style which I’m obsessed with. She is also a face for women empowerment.

I think that the song queen which features Monáe’s mentor Erykah Badu there is the perfect speech at the end that says a little bit what Monáe stands for. I’m proud to say that I’m an Electric Lady and will continue to stand up for everything that it encompasses.

So excited to see how she continues to grow and change. Does Janelle insprie you do become a "Electric Lady"?

Ashtastic journey a lifestyle entertainment blog

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page