top of page

Older Blog Posts

Wouldn't It Be Great If...

My last job was as a Server and I enjoyed 95% of the people I worked with and the customers that came in. But I felt like it was time for me to leave after it felt some people thought that it was perfectly acceptable to verbally, and emotional abuse the employees. The fact that this person is still there is surprising to me. I feel like that some people have come so use to it that I feel like they suffer from Stockholm syndrome.

While this same person tried to do this to me I quickly let it be known that I was not someone who could be bullied or pushed around. Especially when you don’t seem to treat anybody with any kind of respect. When did it become okay for businesses to treat the people who slave and work their asses off for you to makes millions like complete and utter shit? Oh right around the same time that corporations started to get away with everything.

I think it would be very helpful if a lot more companies did something along the lines of undercover boss. My mom use to watch that show all the time and it was always a revelation for the upper management to see that the rules and regulations that they make sometimes make no since and are actually costing them more money. Either because they are so strict that no employee can follow they or they are so flawed that it’s actually costing them more money to follow these stipulations that they enforce.

Having them go through this process could help them remember what it was like being on the bottom and working their way up the ladder or if they never had to start from the bottom it would give them more of a realistic view point of what it’s like.

By saying this I’m not saying that people should be getting paid more. No never that but I do think that it would help to facilitate some type of bond between management and the regular employees. Maybe it would help them to realize that what they consider to be constructive criticism is actually a form of bullying. While some employees do need that tough love it’s not tough love when you are critiquing somebody on a physical feature that they can’t change or making up rules that aren’t even in the employee handbook.

Some people just aren’t cut out to be leaders and should try to figure out how to fix it or allow someone else to take the lead.

Ashley

Ashtastic journey a lifestyle entertainment blog

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page