top of page

Older Blog Posts

Looking at the Past for the Future

Watching “The Book of Negros” with my mom and it makes me sad and happy at the same time. Sad that’s its black history month and there’s not as many documentaries or mini-series to watch about one of the few instances of the dark time in our nation’s history. Now it seems like a common misconceptions that since we have a half black president. That we should be happy with that and not complain when people try to ignore that February is black history month. Also that people think that we blame then personally for the mistakes of their ancestors. Personally I think that’s just idiotic

Reflecting on how far we have come as a nation. But the fact is that to my knowledge fewer channels seems to take the time to acknowledge black history month. That’s what makes me sad. Yes we have come far but why ignore the past? Isn’t that why we learn history in school? Isn’t that why they are always making new movies about important times or movements in the past?

The thing that makes me happy is that yes we do have a black president. Even if he is half black the fact that he identifies as a black man is a huge deal. Even if some think it was a political move it hasn’t been easy. But watching these kinds of movies also make me happy that I had ancestors that were strong enough to fight through all the trials and tribulations for me to enjoy all the things that they wanted and deserved for themselves and future generations.

While there has been great leaps and bounds for racial equality people will sadly be bigoted and small minded. Not because they were born that way but because that’s how they were brought up to be. I'm thankful my parents allowed me to form my own opinions on things.

Ashley

Ashtastic journey a lifestyle entertainment blog

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey LinkedIn Icon
  • Grey Tumblr Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey Pinterest Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Grey Google+ Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon
bottom of page